AIR – Process terminated without establishing connection to debugger


This is strange and I am not sure if anybody else had the same  experience . Today morning when I opened Flex builder to continue my work on an AIR  application after couple of builds and runs the application stopped launching. I tried several times and was confused as to what could have happened to the application that was running perfectly last time. Then I tried debugging it only to find a prompt which says -“Process terminated without establishing connection to debugger”.

To find a fix to this I turned to the only hope for all developers GOOGLE and found that there was a similar issue reported to the Adobe BugList http://tinyurl.com/d3ws5h but this issue was reported only for MAC machines and mine was windows.

It suddenly struck my mind that it was after the application threw a runtime error all this started and curiously I opened the taskmanger and BINGO!! here it is adl.exe is still running. I ended adl process in the task manager and everything was to normal. The adl.exe which is located inside the bin folder under sdk folder of the Adobe Flex  installation directory is the factor which launches your AIR application (something like C:\Adobe\Flex Builder 3\sdks\3.4.0\bin).

Now what could have happened is when the application threw a run time exception even though the application was closed the instance of adl.exe was still running in the system which prevented the next launch.  This might not be proper fix but surely which can get you out of trouble. I wonder if anybody else had faced the same problem if yes, do let me know if you had some other way to fix this.

Published by

Sunil Nair

I am a Software Developer currently working on developing Rich Internet Applications using Adobe Flex/AIR. I have had diverse experience of developing application in software industry for the last 4 years.

9 thoughts on “AIR – Process terminated without establishing connection to debugger”

  1. Yes, faced this problem on Windows Machine,too. The problem is quite usual, I simply go and kill all adl-s (the running adl doesn’t always lock FB, once I had nine adl.exe processes till the problem appeared). If you use FlashDevelop, you can write a .bat file killing it automatically and than building the app. Similarly, you can customize building process for FB

    1. Thanks, DL1t. The solution you provided worked like a champ.

      Thanks again.

      With kind regards,
      Satheesh C.

  2. Hi All,
    This is Soundara… well, I got the same issue when I am trying to debug my Flex AIR Application… I couldn’t open Debugging Mode.

    Pls, Can any one of u help me out of this issue.

  3. Hi Sunil. It is not working in my pc and getting same error. what should I do to running air file? do you think is that problem occur because OS32 and 64bit?

Leave a Reply

